Many people opt for a gluten free diet in an attempt to either lose weight or to prevent several types of digestive disorders from becoming worse. Diets without gluten are implemented as a way to ensure that your body avoids the consumption of gluten, but continues to consume the right amount of nutrients needed.
People who suffer from the digestive disorder called celiac disease are especially prone to follow gluten free diets. In todayís society there are many substances that can do the same work gluten does, so you might not even miss out on much!

When embarking on your journey to gluten free living, it is very important to consult with a dietician or a doctor before attempting to do so. It may not be as suitable for your body as you might think it is. The following products are suitable for consumption during a gluten free diet. Before they are mentioned it should be said that it is important to still check the labels of these foods to make sure that the different brands have left gluten totally out of the cooking equation.

Food naturally free of gluten
The most basic types of food that you can consume are the naturally gluten free food groups.

These are foods or ingredients that have no traces of gluten whatsoever in its natural state.

They are economical so you wonít have to break the bank to change to a healthier lifestyle.

These foods include all types of meat (poultry, fish, and seafood too!), products containing dairy, fruit & veg, nuts, legumes, and beans. As you can see, these are food types that occur in everyday meals, so you wonít have to worry about giving any of these up.

Grains naturally free of gluten

Certain grains arenít always suitable for consumption during a gluten free diet, especially not anything that has been handled in bulk. Those types of grains are sometimes in close proximity of other types of grains containing gluten and may cause cross-contamination.
Some of the gluten-free grains are different types of rice, corn or maize products, potato, soy products, sorghum, flax, buckwheat, and quinoa. You will also be able to eat oats if itís a gluten-free alternative. Some cereals will also offer gluten-free substitutes, but make sure that the label either indicates its gluten free or that there are no traces of gluten contained in it.

Beverages free of gluten
Beverages arenít really a risk that you need to worry about as most beverages do not consist of gluten. These include regular liquor or booze, too. There are, of course, the exceptions to this rule. Look out for beers and anything that may contain malt as an ingredient.

Gluten free substitutes

Supermarkets have made it easier for people living with digestive disorders such as celiac disease to still enjoy the foods they used to eat. Gluten free substitutes are found in almost every grocery store. Remember to always check the label for any traces of gluten and try to build your diet up out of fresh ingredients. The goal is to stay away from any types of processed foods, so this is a great way to start living organically!